Your Progress

  • 0 Incorrect (3 allowed to pass)
  • 0 Correct
Ask DMV Genie AI
Back to Program Home

Free Pennsylvania DOT PA Permit Test Practice

  • Perfect for learner’s permit, driver’s license, and Senior Refresher Test
  • Based on official Pennsylvania 2024 Driver's manual
  • Updated for July 2024
Verified by Steven Litvintchouk, M.S., Chief Educational Researcher, Member of ACES. See our detailed commitment to accuracy and quality in our practice tests.

About this test

6 min to complete
Available in EN, ES, RU

This Pennsylvania DOT practice test has just been updated for July 2024 and covers 20 of the most essential road signs and rules questions directly from the official 2024 PA Driver Handbook. The Pennsylvania learner’s permit is your first step towards being a fully licensed driver. To get a permit, you’ll need to pass a written knowledge test, vision test, and pay a $35.50 fee at your local PennDOT Driver License Center. If you are between 16 and 18, you’ll receive a junior learner’s permit. The Pennsylvania written test will be 18 multiple-choice questions based on the 2024 driver’s manual. You will need to answer 15 of the 18 questions correctly, so it’s important to study and use our free DMV practice test as a helpful tool. The knowledge test will cover questions regarding traffic signs, PA driving laws, and safe driving practices. The exam can be given in multiple languages as well as in an oral format if needed. Studying for the PA DMV written test will make sure you are a safe and confident driver as you prepare for your license.


Pennsylvania Learner’s Permit Test FAQs in 2024

Can I take the permit test online?

No, in Pennsylvania, the permit test must be taken in person at a PennDOT Driver License Center. Online testing is not available.

How many questions are in the permit test?

The Pennsylvania permit test includes 18 questions. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 15 questions, which is an 83% passing score.

Do I need an appointment for the permit test?

Yes, an appointment is typically required for the permit test in Pennsylvania. It’s recommended to schedule it in advance through the PennDOT website or by calling a Driver License Center.

How should I prepare for my permit test?

Prepare for the Pennsylvania permit test by studying the Pennsylvania Driver’s Manual thoroughly. Practice tests can also help familiarize you with the format and types of questions on the actual test.

Do I need a permit if I’m over 18?

Yes, in Pennsylvania, even if you are over 18, you need to obtain a learner’s permit before you can take the road test for a driver’s license. The permit process involves passing the knowledge test and vision screening.

What is the cost of the permit test?

The fee for the learner’s permit test in Pennsylvania is $35. This fee includes the cost of the knowledge test, the permit, and your first driver’s license.


What to expect on the actual PA DOT exam




correct answers to pass


passing score


minimum age to apply

Your trusted source for driver education

Experience the Driving-Tests difference
Since our foundation in 2010, has led the way in online driver's education, with over a decade of experience. Our dedicated experts, bringing together more than 50 years of collective expertise, have established us as the largest non-governmental organization in the U.S. solely focused on driver education. We go beyond the official manuals, offering unique interactive experiences and support like audio guides and an AI Assistant, to cater to different learning styles and needs.
Helping hundreds of thousands to ace their tests, our resources have earned a 4.7-star rating from over 14,500 reviews. Our goal is to make your path to becoming a confident driver as straightforward and effective as possible.

List of questions (classic view)

  1. You see a steady yellow “X” signal over your traffic lane. What does it mean?
  2. Large electronic flashing arrow panels may be used in work zones in both day and night to
  3. When you park next to a curb in Pennsylvania, your vehicle should be no more than ________ from the curb.
  4. What does this sign mean?
  5. When you approach a pedestrian who is carrying a white cane or walking with a guide dog, you must
  6. In Pennsylvania, a driver who is at least 21 years old may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if his or her blood alcohol concentration is ______ or higher.
  7. On a two-way, two-lane road, a single broken yellow centerline means that
  8. What does this sign mean?
  9. Under Pennsylvania law, which occupants of a vehicle must wear seat belts or suitable child restraints?
  10. Where there are both a solid and a broken yellow line between opposing lanes of traffic,
  11. In Pennsylvania, it is recommended that you maintain a following distance of at least ____ second(s) behind the vehicle ahead of you.
  12. What does this sign mean?
  13. Areas of the road that you cannot see in your mirrors are called
  14. When you come to an intersection, follow the _________ before you proceed.
  15. Under Pennsylvania law, you must use your headlights whenever you cannot see pedestrians or vehicles at least _________ ahead.
  16. This sign means that
  17. If an oncoming vehicle has its high beams on, you should look __________ until the vehicle has passed.
  18. If you must drive below 40 mph on a limited-access highway in Pennsylvania, use _________ to warn the drivers behind you.
  19. Which of the following statements about the right-of-way at intersections is FALSE?
  20. What does this sign mean?